Day 5 recap: All of a sudden it was 8 pm and I hadn’t written a word. I sat down and got 1595 words down before my arms were too restless to keep typing. (I had to put the baby down and shake them out for several minutes. I really hate that feeling and had hoped it was merely a pregnancy related thing, but it seems to be sticking around.) In the spirit of the 5th of November, I wrote a Bonfire Night scene that is likely full of inaccuracies. I am still ahead of the game (19,945), so a slow day was no problem.

Day 6 – What is your one biggest stressor related to forcing yourself to write at least 50,000 words in a span of 30 days?

This year is the first year with a TinyHuman, which means that my sleep schedule has been upended. He doesn’t like to sleep on his own, so I am often buried under him, or have him on a pillow in front of me. Typing around him can sometimes be challenging. It also means that when he is sleeping, I may choose to write instead of sleep, and then find myself more exhausted the next day.

I don’t have the option of setting aside any particular time for writing, and am not always good at taking advantage of the small bits of time during the day. Or I use that time for silly things like dishes and laundry. It’s easier to stare at the TV than to pull out the chromebook and type. I should probably master one handed typing for those times when my arm is out of commission.

On the other hand, I am still on maternity leave until after Thanksgiving, and will be going back super part time  (~12 hours a month), so I don’t have to write around work.

(And yes, I know I skipped day 5, I’ll come back around to it. I have my reasons.)

