Day 2 recap: another good day where I surpassed 12,000 total words, 4704 for the day. That’s puts me nearly 1/4 or 25% of the way for those counting. I’m ahead, but I feel that I have lost my plot somewhere along the way. I may use this buffer to go back to my outline. I’ve been using a combination of the Snowflake Method, Chuck Wendig’s Character Guide, and Rachel Stephen’s Preptober articles. I’ve found a few other useful tools for writing as well. Look for a blog post later this month (or maybe in December), detailing what worked and what didn’t. So, on to the Q&A.

Day 3 – Pick one of your female characters.  Introduce your readers to her, from her point of view and her words only.

An interview with Zadie Raycraft:

tichwi: Zadie, welcome, we’re all excited to get to know a little more about you.

Zadie: Thank you, tichwi, I’m honored to be here.

tichwi: Let’s get started, shall we? What was your first thought this morning?

Zadie: Well, that’s an easy one. I have the same thought every day when I wake up, every night when I go to sleep, and nearly every moment in between. My friend Clementine, the one who went down with the dirigible.  I miss her with everything inside of me. I’m never not thinking of her.

t: I know that was a very tragic moment for you. Can you tell us a little about Clementine?

Z: I could tell you a lot about her, but she wouldn’t thank me for it. Clementine was a very private person, very sensible. But every now and then, when the sun hit her hair just right, it spread into a halo of light surrounding her. That’s how I try to remember her, smiling in the sunlight.

t: What cheers you up?

Z: Now that’s an interesting question that I wish I had the answer to. Sketching helps me focus on the now and block out any sad thoughts. And brandy does wonders for numbing the pain. It’s been a long time since I’ve been cheery.

t: What do you like to sketch? What would you sketch if you could sketch anything?

Z: I like a subject with a challenge, a fun play of light and shadow. Wood carvings can be fun. Most of the time I sketch artifacts that are found at my father’s archaeological dig site. If I could sketch anything, it would be Clementine, sitting in front of me.

t: Do you read much, and what is your favorite book?

Z: I love to read, though I don’t do it as often as I would like. I enjoy dark fiction, the kind that looks into the dregs of the human soul and tears it apart. Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley, has always been a favorite.

t: Who is your favorite person to be around right now?

Z: (A brittle laugh) I’m not really into other people right now. However, Ammon, one of the workers at the site, has been an interesting companion these last few weeks. He’s trying to recruit me for a project, and I am quite enjoying his attempts to seduce me to his cause.

t: Thank you, Zadie, it’s been fun.

Z: Yes, it has. Thank you, tichwi.

 

So, would you want to meet Zadie? Would she get along with your characters? Tell us in the comments, and introduce us to one of your characters.

