IT’S NANOWRIMO TIME!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Not Christmas (can we get through one holiday at a time people?), but National Novel Writing Month. Every November, hundreds of thousands of people get together online and attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 days. Some will make it, some won’t, and others will blow by the rest of us at breakneck speed.

A couple years ago, I tried to do this 30 day Q&A meme for NaNo. I failed miserably, making it less than a week. So let’s try again! (Because that’s what NaNo is all about, trying no matter how spectacular previous failures have been!)

Day 1 – Have you participated in NaNoWriMo before?

A resounding YES!

If so, which years and what end result?

More than I can count. I have participated in some capacity every year since 2001. Some years were a handful of words, some years I won. 2013 and 2014 were my two wins (13th try’s a charm!) Last year I couldn’t decide which story to write, and so spend most of the month outlining two separate novels. I was a bit of a rebel, but didn’t make the 50,000.

If not (or even if so, for that matter), what’s your connection to writing?

I don’t remember not writing. In first grade, I used to get extra credit for writing and illustrating little stories. I remember writing one about all the places I had lived in my short little life (6 at the time). I don’t write as often as I’d like, which is why NaNo is so special to me. I’ve learned something about my writing every year.

Why do you want to participate this year?

I actually have a story idea, a partial outline, a few characters. And why break with tradition?

Are you participating in NaNo this year? It’s not too late to sign up, and you can add me as a writing buddy.

