As many of you may know, Tuesday marks the start of NaNoWriMo, where thousands of people across the globe decide to spend 30 days writing (at least, hopefully) 50,000 words. It’s more fun than a barrel of monkeys, and much less messy. I’ve participated in NaNo to some extent almost every year since 2001. I’ve won twice. The other 14 times I wrote anywhere between 100 and 49,900 words. No year was a waste of time, because I always had more words at the end than the beginning, and I always learned something about where I have problems as a writer.

This year, I have a fairly decent idea (I’ll post about that later). I’ve been working up some outline ideas, clarifying plot points, and generally researching all sorts of topics. What topics will you find in my internet history, you ask?

  • 1885 English culture
  • Victorian women
  • The London Season
  • Coming out balls
  • British in Egypt
  • Egyptian leaders in the 19th century
  • Secret societies of Victorian England
  • Necromancy
  • Dirigibles
  • Archaeology (in Egypt, women’s involvement in, history of)

I admit that I am currently doing very shallow research, consisting mainly of first page Google results and Wikipedia pages. For now, I’m looking for ready reference type facts and timelines, things to steer my plot in a still vague direction. I’m clipping lots of pages to OneNote, so I can refer to them later and check out some of the very lovely citations at the end of the articles (particularly the Wikipedia articles). If I take this novel into edits, I’ll start looking for primary sources and more scholarly data. Until then, it’s a fun rabbit hole to fall down!

I’ve discovered that a gentleman may approach a woman without an introduction in order to help her out of a carriage. Britain was in control of Egypt from the late 1800s through the mid 1900s. Queen Victoria ruled FOREVER. Flagellation brothels were a thing in Victoria England, as were directories of courtesans and prostitutes.

T minus 4 days and 1-ish hour!

