I haven’t written much over the last few months. Partly, because we finally brought FirstBorn home, and my days have been filled with taking care of an infant. And partly because I’m not sure where to draw the line between writing about myself as a parent and writing about my son as a person.

Husband and I do not want FirstBorn’s digital footprint to be larger than his actual footprint. At four months old, you will find no pictures of him on and very few references to him (a couple dozen or so, in the early days, before I decided I was not required to give in to people’s curiosity and nosiness) on social media. His full name appears twice, as a digital birth announcement.

Husband and I made the decision to keep FirstBorn off social media for several reasons:

  • This is new territory for us, and we want to take the time to consciously decide how to handle it
  • We both understand that once something is on the internet, it is discoverable, by future potential schools, jobs, friends, etc., even if we only share it with “friends” (downloads, screenshots)
  • Husband and I have different philosophies on how much of our life to share online and with whom.

And because I am not sure exactly where the line between writing as a parent vs. writing about my child is, I will probably just not write about the experiences right now. Or at least, not publish said writings. Maybe I’ll post other things, such as reviews of things/apps that we love. Or about the mental/emotional aspects of being a mom. The only thing I know for sure is that FirstBorn has plenty of time to appear on the internet and I have plenty of time to decide how that happens.

So, for those who know us, if you are looking to know what’s going on, ask. Text, email, Facebook message Husband or me. If you don’t know us personally, then it really isn’t your business how my family is doing, unless I decide to share that information. (I’m not going to say “I hope you don’t take it personally,” because the truth is that if you are the type to take it personally, I’d rather you not read this at all.)

