Vespertine

This was the second time I read this book. I can’t remember how I came across it the first time, but it has stuck with me since. I still hadn’t read the other two books in the series, and it had been several years since the first reading, I decided to start at the beginning again. I read this during the April Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon, when my theme was “Beautiful Books.”

[HOW I FELT ABOUT THE BOOK AFTER READING IT. SCENES OR FEELINGS THAT STOOD OUT FOR ME. OVERALL THOUGHTS.]

I loved this book both times I’ve read it. My initial reaction was that this book ruined me for other books, it was that good. The second time I read it, I had to pick up another book right away, I was in the middle of a read-a-thon! Luckily, I had the rest of the series this time.

What really made this book stand out for me was the writing itself. Word choice, phrasing, pacing, tone; it was exquisite. I still get goosebumps thinking about certain scenes. This books tells the story of Amelia, whose brother sent her to Baltimore to find a good match. Instead, she meets Nathaniel, a painter who earns a living working as a fourteenth. In Boston, Amelia begins to find that she can see the future, but only at vespers. As her visions begin to come true, she has to decide whether or not to keep seeking them out, and whether or not to tell what she has already seen.

Check out the videos below including behind the scenes videos explaining what a fourteenth and vespers are.

[BOOK TRAILER OR OTHER MEDIA RELATED TO THE BOOK.]




BOOK STATS:
Title: The Vespertine
Series: The Vespertine
Other Books in this Series: The Springsweet, The Elementals
Author: Saundra Mitchell
Pages: 293
Age level: Young Adult
Illustrated: No
Who I would give this book to: Fans of: historical fiction, fantasy, realistic fantasy, romance, lyrical writing
Setting: 1889 Baltimore
Favorite Character: Nathaniel. He’s just so enticingly wonderful.
Favorite Moment: When Nathaniel asks Amelia to jump.
Rating: 5 stars
Book Source: Library

