I found  this 30 day NaNo-meme from a few years ago and decided it would be a fun way to share some of my novel and experience, without actually sharing my novel. (Because, like all first drafts, it needs a LOT of grooming.) If you have never heard of NaNoWriMo, it is short for National Novel Writing Month, an event that occurs every November where writers all over the world attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 days.

[I skipped part 4, as part 1 contained two questions. Now the parts should correspond to the days]

Day 5 – Name two songs from your playlist that you feel are connected with your novel in some way, and explain how they are.

I already shared one of my songs on Part 3 yesterday. Go take a listen, I’ll wait right here.

So, two other songs.

The first is called “Hurts Like Hell” by Vermillion Lies. This song represents various aspects of three of my characters. Nicolette, the main character speaks these lines:

Yes it hurts like hell
I’m gonna do it anyway
I don’t know how to stop myself
What can I say

The rest of the words are a combination of Liana and Ilian, best friends/twins (their exact relationship is still undetermined). The simple explanation: Nicolette has no desire to resist the pull that Liana and Ilian have on her. She knows from the beginning it will likely not end well for her, but they are the keys to the information she needs.

The second song, again by Vermillion Lies, “Bonnie and Clyde”. The whole song is Nicolette’s point of view:

My Dear Clyde
I fell in love with you
but I have to say
that I love Bonnie, too.

The relationship between Nicolette, Ilian, and Liana is complicated. It not a traditional “have to choose one contender” love triangle, but more of a “why can’t we all get along” love triangle. I’m interested to see how it plays out.

