I found  this 30 day NaNo-meme from a few years ago and decided it would be a fun way to share some of my novel and experience, without actually sharing my novel. (Because, like all first drafts, it needs a LOT of grooming.) If you have never heard of NaNoWriMo, it is short for National Novel Writing Month, an event that occurs every November where writers all over the world attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 days.

Day 4 – What genre is your novel?  Why did you pick it?

I’m still a little unclear on this one. I’ve pulled elements from a few different places, but I think overall, it falls into Dystopian. A bleak future world. But then, it’s a future highly influenced by the past, with a sometimes steampunk/Victorian feel. Other times, it’s pure surrealism.

I find that this year’s novel is highly influenced by a few songs/movies that have seeped into the original dystopian story line. A few days before NaNo began, I sat down to watch a much overdue movie, Jack and the Cuckoo-Clock Heart. I was entranced from the beginning, particularly, by this song.

It’s been in my head nearly a week now, and I do nothing to make it go away. From there, it has spread to Tim Burton movies, Jill Tracy songs, and a smattering of Vermillion Lies. It’s definitely going to be an interesting ride.

Do you ever find yourself just pulled along for the ride by your story?

