I found  this 30 day NaNo-meme from a few years ago and decided it would be a fun way to share some of my novel and experience, without actually sharing my novel. (Because, like all first drafts, it needs a LOT of grooming.) If you have never heard of NaNoWriMo, it is short for National Novel Writing Month, an event that occurs every November where writers all over the world attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 days.

Day 3 – Pick one of your female characters.  Introduce your readers to her, from her point of view and her words only.

Readers, I’d like you to meet Liana, a supporting character in my upcoming novel:

Good evening, darlings. Me? I’m known around here as Liana. Come, let me show you around. This, where we stand, is Mouth of Hell. Over there, the DJ booth, that’s my territory. Nothing occurs on that stage without my prior approval. At the bar, you’ll find Ilian, my other half. Not like that, we are twins, or we should have been. It’s all very complicated and uninteresting. Suffice to say, he is the other side of my coin. Dance floor is there, in the middle. Play your cards right, and I may meet you out there between sets. Unless, Ilian is more you’re type. This is where you’ll find me every Friday and Saturday night. During the week, it does not matter. This, Mouth of Hell, this is who I am. Come, I will show the private booths upstairs.

And there you have it. I get the feeling she isn’t telling me everything, what do you think?

