The wonder and fury that is NaNoWriMo began just over a day ago. If you have never heard of NaNoWriMo, it is short for National Novel Writing Month, an event that occurs every November where writers all over the world attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 days.

I found  this 30 day NaNo-meme from a few years ago and decided it would be a fun way to share some of my novel and experience, without actually sharing my novel. (Because, like all first drafts, it needs a LOT of grooming.) Since I am starting on Day 2, I’ll answer the first two questions.

Day 1 – Have you participated in NaNoWriMo before?  If so, which years and what end result?  If not (or even if so, for that matter), what’s your connection to writing?  Why do you want to participate this year?

Answer: I have participated in NanoWriMo many times. I first discovered it in 2001, during my freshman year of college. I have participated at varying levels every year except for, I believe, 2012, when I decided I needed a break and didn’t even pretend. Those varying levels range from a title and under 1000 words to last year’s grand finish (my first). Yes, it took me 12 attempts to win. Perseverance, baby! 2006 was a close year, but just before midnight my story ended. There was nothing left to write.

I’ve been writing sporadically since I was in first grade(?). It’s never something I take too seriously, but I love the act of putting words on paper (or screen) and bringing images to life through description.

Day 2 – What’s the title of your story?  Why did you choose the name you did?

Answer: My current working title is Forgotten. There are many things that have been forgotten in my story. Small things: the main character has forgotten her parents, who died when she was a few years old. Big things: after the government successfully suppresses or takes control of all information sources, society has forgotten it’s history and how information once served to empowered them.

