Monday Morning Update:

It was a great readathon. I started with the first half of The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey. After a few technical difficulties and beverage spills, the book was running and I was curled in my armchair listening. I switched to This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales (in print). A perfect book to just sink into and remember how much high school sucked (and how it isn’t really so different now, but at least as adults we have the ability to change our environment.) I started on Winger by Andrew Smith, but it’s really long, and I didn’t feel that I would finish it, so I switched over to Maybe I Will by Laurie Gray, because it was the shortest of the books on my list. The writing did not blow me away, but I liked the story. More than that, it felt important. I’ll write more about that in an actual review. By this time, it was after midnight, and my eyes refused to focus on anything else, so I put The 5th Wave back on and finished it and the readathon around 6 am (one hour early). It’s the latest I’ve ever made yet. I almost wish I had kept track of time reading this year, but alas, I did not. Oh well. Sometimes, I just need to enjoy and not worry about the numbers.

4:15 PM

I am not feeling as social as normal this readathon. Almost halfway through and this is only my second update. But that’s ok. Because while I’m not typing and tweeting, I am reading!

I am about halfway through The 5th Wave, audio. I’m really enjoying it so far.

I just finished This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales. Excellent book! I don’t read a lot of contemporary, but this one was excellent. A small part of me wants to read it again. Right now.

I am starting Winger by Andrew Smith.

Hope you are having a great readathon!

 

11:30 AM

After much, much, agony, I finally came up with some books to read, taking titles off of YALSA’s Teens’ Top Ten nominees list. First up today, The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I’m listening to this one, because it was a late night last night and I did not wake up ready to focus on words. So far, it’s pretty awesome, but I may need to switch to something in print before long. After a few cups of coffee. More later…

