Note: I will update this post throughout the day, with new stats, mini-challenges, etc. I don’t want to overload any followers.

ETA 3:00 PM: Mini-Challenge: Mad Libs!

I haven’t read any more, so no stats update. However, Husband is in the living room now, so I roped him into playing Mad Libs. This challenge is being hosted by Mia and Jessica. Thanks ladies!

The original paragraph, from Kushiel’s Chosen:

The attendant led us to the Upper East Wing of the palace, and paused outside a doorway. I could hear odd sounds coming from within, grunting and thudding. Kazan looked inquiringly at me and I shrugged. The attendant cleared his throat and knocked three times, then opened the door.

The Mad Libbed paragraph:

The CAN led us to the Upper East Wing of the BATHROOM, and paused outside a PUMPKIN. I could JUMP odd CIGARETTES coming from within, grunting and thudding. JIM looked QUICKLY at me and I SKIPPED. The MACHINE cleared his throat and MOVED three times, then opened the CARD.

ETA 2:30 PM: Finished second book! And a Mini-Challenge: Through Tea Leaves

Well, the tea wasn’t working for me, so I used coffee. This is Kat from Gunnerkrigg Court series. First, my rendition. Second, the actual book cover. Thanks to Katrina for hosting this one!

20131012_142731 20131012_142738

I had fun with this one, and I love that #Readathon turns into arts and crafts! Now, it’s time for some stats!

Books read: 2
Pages Read: 554
Currently Reading/Listening To: The Carnivorous Carnival by Lemony Snickett
Coffee Ingested: 3 Cups
Mountain Dews Consumed: 1
Cups of Tea: 1
Time Spent Reading/Listening: 5 hours 20 minutes [Out of approx 7.5 minutes]
Breaks Taken: 3 (Trip to Menards, updates between books)
Mini-Challenges Completed: 5 (Book Tunes[H2], A Puzzling Challenge[H3], Spine Poetry[H4], Blackout Poetry[H5], Through the Tea Leaves[H6])
Snacks: Tacos!

ETA 12:58 PM: Finished first book! And a Mini-Challenge: Blac
kout Poetry

20131012_131214

It’s a little hard to read in this picture, but it says:
blood
message
about the faith
know my ways,
recklessly
descended
trust

I copied a page out of Kushiel’s Chosen, by Jacqueline Carey.

Also, I just finished my first book!

Books read: 1
Currently Reading/Listening To: Gunnerkrigg Court, Vol 1., Orientation
Coffee Ingested: 3 Cups
Mountain Dews Consumed: <1
Cups of Tea: 1
Time Spent Reading/Listening: 4 hours 19 minutes
Breaks Taken: 1 (Trip to Menards)
Mini-Challenges Completed: 4 (Book Tunes[H2], A Puzzling Challenge[H3], Spine Poetry[H4], Blackout Poetry[H5])
Snacks: Tacos!

ETA 11:22 AM: Hour 4 Mini-Challenge: Book Spine Poetry

I love this challenge, every time! My poem:

20131012_115703

Lament!
The Princess in the Opal Mask;
Monstrous Beauty
Under the Wide and Starry Sky

I made it back from the home improvement store (buying flooring for the kitchen)! That was my only scheduled break for the day. I also wanted to post some stats and remind everyone that I am collecting donations for My Water Charity. Click on the link to donate. I am hoping to get $200, and currently have $50. Every dollar helps! All the money is used to help provide sources of clean water to people who need it.

Stats:

Books read: <1
Currently Reading/Listening To: The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket (Listening)
Coffee Ingested: 3 Cups
Mountain Dews Consumed: <1
Time Spent Reading/Listening: 2 hours 51 minutes
Breaks Taken: 1 (Trip to Menards)
Mini-Challenges Completed: 3 (Book Tunes[H2], A Puzzling Challenge[H3], Spine Poetry[H4])
Snacks: None, on my way to make some food.

ETA 8:33 AM: Hour Two Mini-Challange: Book Tunes
This was a difficult one, especially in the morning. I don’t know as much music as a lot of other people. I’m still listening to The Hostile Hospital, and wanted to think of a song that would capture the dread experienced by the Baudelaires throughout the series. I remembered that last year I downloaded a bunch of music from a woman with a lovely, haunting voice: Jill Tracy. Her music was suggested on Melissa Marr’s blog. So, I found “Haunted by the Thought of You.” It has a perfect combination of beauty and dread to go with this book.

The first verse:

I lock the door and I check it twice
Before I climb the stairs
I see you lurking down below
Underneath the streetlight’s glare
Your footsteps approaching
A shadow cloaks the room
I revel in this nightmare
But I keep waking up too soon

This could easily be a grown-up Violet singing about Count Olaf.

ETA 7:08 AM: Introductory Questionnaire
See, I’m already adding to the post.

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
I am reading from the United States, Midwest, south of Chicago. More specifically, from my armchair, currently. From my hammock later, possibly. From my bed tonight, inevitably.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
Doon by Carey Corp. I received a signed ARC at ALA, somehow lost it, and then was lucky enough to be approved for it on Netgalley, so I’m excited to have a chance to sit down and read it.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
I did not actually plan snacks, however, I have a few gummy bears left from a trip to the candy factory this summer, and I have been saving them for a special occasion.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
A little about me…hmmm. I am a librarian and a wife. In my spare time, I read, watch too much TV (currently watching Supernatural and Castle), and game. I love coffee and words. I once lived halfway up an active volcano.

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
I’ve participated before several times, but I’m not sure what I will do differently. I think I will try to participate more in the mini-challenges and commenting on others’ blogs. Audios are good for this, because I can listen and type.

7:03 AM
Who’s ready to read? This girl! I’ve got my audio cued, and will be listening to that before I’m done writing this post. I have coffee in the French press, a can of Mt. Dew by my side (I’ll be double fisting the caffeine this morning), my Kindle is charging, I have my heated blanket below me, and my Snuggie. I donned my “You Can’t Judge and Ebook by it’s Cover” shirt and a pair of yoga pants. [Just cued up my first audio: The Hostile Hospital by Lemony Snicket, performed by Tim Curry.] My stopwatch is going (I like exact time stats). How do you like to start a Read-a-Thon morning?

