The_Dream_Thieves

The exhibit floor at ALA. This was my first time, and I had no idea what to expect. I certainly did not expect the rush of everyone in every direction as they opened the gates (so to speak) on Friday evening. I didn’t expect the amount of free books that I would bring home (over 50 by the end of the weekend). I didn’t expect to be lucky enough to overhear one of the Scholastic reps talking about when they would put out ARCs (Advanced Reader’s Copies, aka Uncorrected Proofs) of The Dream Thieves by Maggie Steifvater. All of the above happened, and I came home a happy little Tichwi. The Thieves is the second in The Raven Cycle (which I believe will be four books, total), and sequel to The Raven Boys, which I reviewed here a couple of weeks ago.

This review may contain spoilers for The Raven Boys, I will try not to spoil anything for this book.

I’ve often thought that many second books in a series are like stereotypical middle children: a little awkward, unsure of themselves, not quite as good as the first, and never as adored as the last. The sequel to Raven Boys, however, does not disappoint.  It beckons the reader to follow it as it traverses the ley lines of Virginia, the life and love lines of the characters, and plays on your heart strings like a Celtic harp.

A lot of things happen in this book, but it never feels too crowded with action or people. I imagine this book feels a lot like the semi-organized chaos in Blue’s house.  Each character comes into their own in this book, becoming more then they (or us) quite knew they could. They become the people they choose to be, the people they have to be, and the people they feared they’d be. We get to know Kavinsky and his white Mitsubishi and we meet The Gray Man, an unusual hit-man with a forgotten identity. This books leads us further into the darkness of dreams, kings, and dead true loves. I know I didn’t tell you much, but trust me that it’s enough and go read the book.

I loved this book, so very much, and cannot wait for it to come out so that everyone else can love it too! I can’t wait to hold my signed copy in my hands. I will probably pet it, and definitely hug it. As with all her other books, Maggie made a trailer for this one! It’s a bit different than her usual trailers, and so awesome! [See kids, you can grow up and have fun!]

BOOK STATS:
Title: The Dream Thieves
Series: The Raven Cycle
Other Books in this Series: The Raven Boys
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Pages: 448
Age level: YA
Illustrated: No
Where I read this book:  Mostly in the bath. While reading in the bath isn’t abnormal, for some reason this book demanded I run a bubble bath before reading.
Setting: Contemporary, Henrietta, VA
Favorite Character: I still love Noah, but this time, I can’t decide between Persephone or Mr. Gray for my favorite character.
Favorite Moment: Blue and Gansey, on a road in the mountains. (There is no way to describe a moment without ruining it in this series so far.)
Rating4 stars For the same reason as the first book. It is excellent, but I don’t want to sell future books short.
Book Source: Received an ARC from the publisher.

