I decided a new decade deserved a new blog!
At the end of June, I turned 30! In preparation for this, I enjoyed my final weeks and days in my twenties. I also tied up some loose ends.  First, I graduated! I am now the proud owner of a shiny new MLS degree from Clarion University of Pennsylvania. I am very proud of this degree, as a lot of work went into it. I tried to focus on classes that dealt with technology, teens/kids, and teaching. I am now on the prowl for a new job.
degree
(This showed up after ALA, but I finished and graduated in May.)

Second, I cleared up some old tickets and got my driver’s license back. I made a couple dumb decisions almost a decade ago, and didn’t want that following me into my thirties. Finally, I got a new car!
car
(This is Phedre, named after one of the main characters in Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel series.)

Celebration-wise, I attended my first American Beer Classic at Soldier Field…
beerclassic
(Me refilling Husband’s glass somewhere near the 50 yard line.)

…my second C2E2….
c2e2
(Husband’s co-worker, me, and Husband by the C2E2 sign. For some reason they put it where all the pics would be backlit.)

…and my first pub-crawl (complete with costumes)!
pubcrawl
(This was towards the end of the night, Husband and I may have had a few drinks. We were Prince Prospero and The Mysterious Guest from Poe’s Mask of the Red Death.)

My mom came up for a visit that spanned the last days of my 20s and the first days of my 30s. To start my 30s, we hosted a party with friends and family filling our backyard. The kids had a water balloon fight, which I joined in on. After they left, we had a book-shaped piñata for the adults.
bday
(Me and my cake. Yes, I am wearing my Master’s hood. Yes, there are 30 candles on the cake. Husband and Nephew2 in the background.)

My mom went back home a few days later and I attended my first ALA! I’m hoping to write a post about that experience soon. It wasn’t my first conference, but it was my first time at ALA, and much larger than the conferences I had previously attended. I’m so glad I had the chance to go when it was near my hometown, I could still use my student pricing, and because I went on my own dime, I did not have anything specific I needed to go to. I met authors, Twitter friends, new friends, heard great talks, and just had a general great time! ALA also marked the end of my time on YALSA’s STEM Taskforce and the beginning of my Teen Tech Week Committee appointment. Shortly after ALA, I was appointed to LITA’s Assessment and Research Committee. (Wow, has all of that really happened since my birthday? I guess I don’t have to worry about being bored.)

Last week, Husband and I celebrated our 7/3 year anniversary. (Together seven years, married three years).
1014851_588653297852649_1086875257_o
(The beautiful roses Husband had delivered for me! He’s such a great guy!)

So far, thirty has been pretty awesome for me. My twenties were fun, but I can’t wait to see what’s next! How do you celebrate your big milestones? Do you still enjoy getting older, or have you starting celebrating the same age more than once?

